Danish Oil

Happy Independence Day to everyone! I spent the morning geeking out on youtube.com. I was looking for homemade upright basses. I saw a few interesting ideas but it didn’t look like many people were seriously exploring the idea of an affordable acoustic bass. I plan to change that. More on this later.

After putting the ribs on the smoker,

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I sanded the ukulele and prepared it for a danish oil finish. Danish oil is just a fancy name for an oil and varnish blend. I like it because it is simple, it shows off the wood grain, it doesn’t interfere with the sound of the instrument and it repairs easily. I cover it with a good wax after the oil has dried.

It is a total joy to watch the wood come alive as you treat it with oil. I have tried to capture that on video.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will let that dry and I might string it up tomorrow. Meanwhile, I think the ribs are about done!

Published in: on July 4, 2011 at 9:28 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://russmorin.wordpress.com/2011/07/04/danish-oil/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. nicely done, the doing and the writing about the doing.


Leave a Reply

