Birth of Number 14

My latest resonator ukulele is now finished!

Behold-

Can you tell I’m proud?

The sides, back, resonator cover and headstock veneer are air-dried Black Walnut. Just look at the beautiful variety of colors in this wood.

The top is mahogany accented with lovely two-ply binding.

I like repeating themes. This uke has walnut sapwood stripes in three places.

Well, here it is – the scratch. This is part of the risk involved in being a craftsman. I handled this uke almost daily for about a month and managed to scratch it on the last day of work while I was putting strings on it for the last time. The good news is that it is hopefully the first scratch of many. I build my instruments for players. I want them to be played and loved. I want them to develop a warm, glowing patina from being handled – a lot! What is patina but a bunch of small scratches and bruises that have been rubbed and caressed with skin oil and dirt and maybe a splash or two of beer. So here it is. No extra charge for this first scratch.

Published in: on December 12, 2011 at 10:43 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://russmorin.wordpress.com/2011/12/12/birth-of-number-14/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful!

  2. Nice work Russ. How’s it sound?

    • I’ll be posting a sound sample or two before the week is out. Stay tuned!

  3. Gorgeous!

  4. One beautiful BMF!

  5. ann said how much? also are you coming to see if you want the wood??? your friends the sistares

    • Hey y’all, I think I have more wood than I can handle right now. Thank you for thinking of me though! This uke is 950.


Leave a Reply

