Goofy Foot

so it’s Christmas Eve and I’m having a quiet night with Smithers.

Just finished baking biscotti, the fire is crackling, I’m enjoying a beer and I’m thinking about dinner. But first, I wanted to show you the Goofy Foot.

A few weeks ago, my band played at Williams Hardware in Traveler’s Rest. We don’t have a drummer but, during practice, we get all the rhythm we need by tapping our feet on my wooden floor. How to reproduce that at the gig? Kyle mentioned that when Marshall Crenshaw played at his brother’s club he just miked Marshall’s cowboy boot tapping the floor. Being a luddite, I decided to forgo the electronics and make a percussion pedal.

I give you:

The Goofy Foot.

We played the gig and it worked great – a little too great in fact. The fellas actually complained that it was too loud! Well, Tucker and his family were in the audience and he took a liking to this new pedal. His folks asked  me later to build him one for Xmas. I revised the design and came up with this little gem. I didn’t think about photographing it until I was about to hand it over to Santa’s helpers. So here are some quick and dirty shots from my cell phone.

The sides are cherry, the top is western red cedar and the foot is quality plywood.

The clapper is a resonant hardwood that I got from a pallet from India. I used JB Weld to hold the spring in place.

I’m pretty sure this is an original concept as I’ve found nothing like it on the dreaded internet. If you would like me to build you one, send me an email. $50 + shipping.

Happy Holidays.

 

Published in: on December 24, 2011 at 11:43 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://russmorin.wordpress.com/2011/12/24/goofy-foot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Brilliant!

  2. What a hoot! Love the foot. Smithers is even lovelier. Have a good holiday.

  3. Since that box is hollow would it make more sound if you put a port on the front? I commented to Kevin at the Williams Hardware show at how good all three of you kept or lead the time no matter who was singing the song.

  4. Thanks Bart – the front is open. The prototype had two drilled holes but, on this one, I just made the front piece short so the sound can escape out the bottom.

    • What a cool little invention!


Leave a Reply

