Six-String Baritone Resonator

You may remember the six-string baritone resonator ukuleles that I attempted for Ken and Eileen.  We were going where – to my knowledge – no one had gone before (which would explain why it was a bit of a failure). The resonator cones couldn’t hold up under the string pressure and I had to convert the ukes into six-string baritone uke archtops. Fortunately, both Ken and Eileen were very gracious about the whole thing and loved their archtops even though they weren’t exactly what they ordered. Ken went one step further and immediately ordered another resonator! No one was going to mess with Ken’s vision of the perfect ukulele!

On this build, I increased the body size so it could hold an 8″ Beard cone. I normally use a 6″ National cone but, as mentioned earlier, that wouldn’t work. Also, this time I made the body out of walnut with maple binding.

Hurricane uke 033

I am using my new soundwell design.

lawnmower 026

Ebony end graft.

Hurricane uke 020

I love my old planes! My nephew Andrew brought this Stanley 220 back to life for me.

Hurricane uke 022

Plane detail

Hurricane uke 025

The body before installing the binding.

asus 002

Maple binding is glued in and taped up.

asus 005

The binding is purposely left ‘proud’ of the edge. It will be planed and sanded to a final fit.

asus 008

asus 013

asus 012

Working on the fretboard

wilson 002

 

wilson 006

I’m starting to use more hand tools than I used to. They are nearly as fast as power tools and I have more control. Here I am using a coping saw to cut out the headstock.

wilson 009

Shaping the neck with a small drawknife.

wilson 015

My favorite rasp.

wilson 011

More neck shaping but this time with my beloved chair making scraper.

wilson 018

An awkward duckling hiding out by the wood pile.

wilson 021

Next time he will be all dressed up and ready to go out into the world.

Published in: on February 20, 2013 at 11:58 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://russmorin.wordpress.com/2013/02/20/six-string-baritone-resonator/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great work Russ. Love reading your newsletters.

  2. Beautiful, Russ! I think your nephew is one talented guy as well.

  3. RUSS, I THINK GOING BACK TO THE OLD TOOLS IS SMART IT IS MORE CRAFTSMAN LIKE AS WELL.ANNS GREAT-GREAT GRANDFATHER DID NOT HAVE POWERTOOLS TO MAKE “THE FIRST ONE”
    ‘. RUSS I HAVE THREE PIECES OF BLUE GUM FROM AUSTRAILIA YOU MAY CONSIDER THEM FOR USE ON ONE …THEY ARE DENSE AND RING BELL LOIKE WHEN STRUCK…… CALL ME ……ROBERT SISTARE

  4. Cool blog. Keep up the wonderful work. You ARE my hero.


Leave a Reply

