A Tribute to Dobro

Though you don’t see them often, Dobro made resonator ukuleles. They weren’t as sexy as their National cousins but I’m rather fond of their subtle ‘dorkiness’. This model always reminds me of the early World War 1 gas masks.

1933 dobro soprano1

fwwchronp

The model below is a large bodied soprano.

uke_dobro_3

Nobody builds soprano resonators anymore. I’m not sure why but I imagine it’s because it is damned difficult to shove all that hardware into a small soprano body. I tried one once and wasn’t thrilled but I think it’s time to try again!

bru dobro 004

bru dobro 006

 

Tight fit!

bru dobro 009

 

I tried a new technique this time. I drilled the holes in the reso cover first and then turned it on the lathe – much easier.

bru dobro 011

Half-way there.

bru dobro 013

The lathe work is done.

bru dobro 015

A jeweler’s saw takes care of the odd-shaped holes.

dobro2 001

Finished.

dobro2 005

Next I’ll show you how I handled the sound ports.

Published in: on February 21, 2013 at 6:22 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://russmorin.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/a-tribute-to-dobro/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. The gas mask reference made me chuckle. You are right, there is def a resemblance!

    Sent from my iPhone


Leave a Reply

