Big Rusty Dobro Tribute

So, what do you think?

SONY DSC

I like it!

The Dobro Original                    The Big Rusty Tribute

soprano dobro2today 036

Specifics:

Scale is 13.5″

Body and neck are mahogany

Reso cover and portals are magnolia

Fretboard is Indian rosewood (1.5″ wide at nut and 1.75″ at neck)

Nut is black horn

Tailpiece and biscuit cover are aluminum

Cone is 6″ National

Tuners are deluxe friction tuners

Strings are Aquila

Finish is Tru Oil

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

This was built as an experiment. It is a prototype. It plays great and sounds fabulous. There are a few minor dings and the biscuit doesn’t line up perfectly on the body but these things don’t affect the playing or sound. I imagine I will sell this one at a reduced price in the near future after I am done gleaning all I can from it. I have a new cone on the way from National to replace this one as it is slightly damaged. You can hear a sound sample below.

Remember my gas mask comparison?

See what I mean?!

1930s_gas_masktoday 033

SONY DSC

Published in: on March 8, 2013 at 8:42 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://russmorin.wordpress.com/2013/03/08/892/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Dang Russ…that’s stupendous! And 13 1/2 frets clear of the body- even better. I’d like to see it before it goes to it’s new home. How manu coats of TruOil?

  2. er….many.

    • I think I put 4 coats. I sealed pores on the body and then added stain (which I never do!) to get it to look a little more aged. Then the oil.

  3. Very cool! Came across your page while researching my ukulele which just happens to be one of the Dobros you based your redesign on. It was passed down from my Grandfather. Beautiful work, and a great sound!


Leave a Reply

