A New Bandsaw

When we moved last year, my large Grizzly 21″ bandsaw never joined us. I kept putting off bringing it over (it weighs 600 lbs) and it languished in the old shop while my house was on the market. I made do in the new shop with my old Jet 14″ bandsaw during this time and eventually, due to money needs and sheer laziness, I sold the Grizzly. The buyers arrived and dragged my beast away. I was sorry to see it go but I was relieved to have avoided moving it. Well, my new shop is finally starting to function properly and I need a large saw again.

DSC06310

My old shop. Bandsaw on right.

I started shopping Craigslist for a used saw. I found several good deals but it was still gonna cost around $800. Then I thought about Matthias.

matthias wandel

Matthias Wandel (muh-TEE-us VON-dl) is one of my favorite geeks on the internet. He’s a clever Canadian who would rather make what he needs than buy it – he’s very self reliant. I highly recommend his website http://www.woodgears.ca and his YouTube channel (just search for his name and you will find him). And, when I say geek, I mean that in the most flattering way.

Matthias began experimenting with building bandsaws out of mostly wood. He tweaked his design and technique so that most builders could construct one without many special tools. I realized that this was going to be my new bandsaw.

I started last week. Check it out:

bandsaw1 005

The frame.

bandsaw1 006

Laying out the wheels.

bandsaw1 010

Cutting the wheel with a router.

bandsaw1 013

Each wheel consists of two discs glued together.

bandsaw1 016

Glue-up.

bandsaw1 018

I’m about half-way done with this wheel.

I’m having a great time building this! The cost for materials really depends on how much scrap wood you have on hand. I think I will end up spending about $150 in supplies. Quite a deal.

More later.

 

 

Published in: on April 23, 2013 at 1:31 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://russmorin.wordpress.com/2013/04/23/a-new-bandsaw/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is quite impressive that you are making your own machine. Can’t wait to see how it comes along.

  2. Very cool, Russ. What kind of motor will you use?

    • I don’t know yet, Frank. I try to buy old motors when I see them for cheap. I hope I have a 1HP lurking in the corner somewhere.


Leave a Reply

