A Painted Tenor Resonator for Caleb

Thought you might like to see some photos of my latest ukulele. Caleb in Oregon ordered this one and I think it really came out well. He wanted a painted body and natural wood for the other parts. The body is poplar painted with dark brown and black milk paint. The neck is mahogany and the resonator cover, biscuit guard and fretboard are walnut. He also flattered me by choosing my old f-hole design. I always like that design but I didn’t know anyone else did!
SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I laminated two thin pieces of walnut with a thin plywood core to create this new biscuit guard. Very light, very thin and very strong!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The nut is horn and I’m not even sure what kind of wood that headstock veneer is – I just liked it!

SONY DSC

Caleb opted for the Peghed tuners which are geared tuners that look just like old-style wooden peg tuners. They are lightweight and accurate.

SONY DSCCan you see the bug holes? They are symmetrical since the top and back are sliced open and glued in a book-match manner.

SONY DSC
My friend, J. Michael King, was kind enough to take time out from his busy guitar teaching lessons to record a sound sample for me.

Published in: on August 7, 2013 at 12:56 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://russmorin.wordpress.com/2013/08/07/a-painted-tenor-resonator-for-caleb/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

